Don’t get caught doing this on your site!

Just a few days ago I came across an article on The Search Engine Journal that warned of 6 on-page SEO sins that can get a web designer into major issues. We’ve discussed in previous classes about how to optimize our sites but in the best and most ethical ways possible.

I’m new to the web design business, by business I mean I’m on website trial one due to a class assignment. But regardless I’m trying to work through it as best I know how, just like my fellow classmates. I figured this might be a good one to share with them because we’re human we make mistakes, but it’d be better to avoid the mistakes the first time around.

The 6 on-pages SEO tactics to avoid were: 1. Keyword Stuffing, 2. Spammy Footer Links and Tabs, 3. Cloaking, 4. Internal Linking with keyword-rich Anchor Text, 5. Dedicated Pages for Every Keyword Variant, 6. Content Swapping.

Again, being new to the web designing  realm I’m not familiar with all of these tactics but this article does a great job at saying what it is, how it’s usually done or how it’s caught, and then a solution to avoid the problem. So it’s definitely worth a read or at least a skim for anyone looking for SEO tactic management. Follow the link

One thing that I did find interesting about the article is that this article could be somewhat linked to an article I mentioned before this in “Great Google, now this?” I was looking to see which SEO tactic stood out to me the most and I found 6. Content Swapping. While I find creating a web site hard enough and I’d prefer the webpages associated with my website actually be about what they say they’re about, others seem to be changing their content after Google indexes their site. Google is really a machine trying to keep up with billions of users’ demands, so it is not perfect and while continuously refreshed, it can take a while before it realizes that a site initially indexed was changed.

This is where that previous article came into play. That article had an opt-out solution for snippet spotlight but there isn’t a way to opt-out of getting faulty search engine results because of content swapping just yet. The web designer does receive a punishment from Google once the issue is found, but if they’re that into changing up content they’re probably onto another swap before Googles realizes it’s gone. Again, as I stated in my previous blog it’s just something that we have to be cautious of while using search engines for results.

Leave a Reply

